Does Spain have French as an official language?

What countries is French the official language?

Countries where French is an official language:

  • France (60 million native speakers)
  • Canada (7 million native speakers)
  • Belgium (4 million native speakers)
  • Switzerland (2 million native speakers)
  • Congo-Kinshasa.
  • Congo-Brazzaville.
  • Côte d’Ivoire.
  • Madagascar.

Does Spain have two official languages?

Spanish, the official language in the entire country, is the predominant native language in almost all of the autonomous communities in Spain. Six of the seventeen autonomous communities in Spain have other co-official languages in addition to Spanish.

Why does Spain have 4 official languages?

The Constitution also made space for Spain’s other languages, stating that they would be official in their respective self-governing regions and that they represented a cultural heritage that would be respected and protected. Today there are four co-official languages in Spain: Basque.

What part of Spain speaks Catalan?

It is the official language of Andorra, and a co-official language of three autonomous communities in eastern Spain: Catalonia, the Valencian Community, and the Balearic Islands.

Catalan language.

Pronunciation [kətəˈla], [valensiˈa]
Native to Spain, Andorra, France, Italy
Ethnicity Aragonese Balears Catalans Valencians

What is the only country with Spanish as the official language in Europe?

In Europe, Spain is the only country with Spanish as the official language. However, it is impossible that there not be any native speakers of the second most spoken language in any other country. That is why you can find native speakers almost in every other country, even if the percentage is small.

THIS IS FUNNING:  Is French a unique language?