How many countries are part of France?

Which countries are in France?

Metropolitan France

Country Length Bordering regions
Luxembourg 73 km 45.36 mi Grand Est
Germany 448 km 278.37 mi Grand Est
Switzerland 573 km 356.05 mi Bourgogne-Franche-Comté Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Grand Est
Italy 515 km 320.01 mi Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur

Which country is still owned by France?

Inhabited departments and collectivities

Name Capital Status
French Guiana Cayenne Overseas department / region
French Polynesia Papeete Overseas collectivity
Guadeloupe Basse-Terre Overseas department / region
Martinique Fort-de-France

What are the 2 territories of France?

Map of Saint Pierre and Miquelon. Saint Pierre and Miquelon is the only overseas French territory located in North America. As its name implies, the territory consists of two small islands, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, the latter of which is the largest.

Does France belongs to UK?

Unlike France, the United Kingdom left the European Union in 2020, after it voted to do so in a referendum held on 23 June 2016. It is estimated that about 350,000 French people live in the UK, with approximately 400,000 Britons living in France.

Country comparison.

France United Kingdom
HDI 0.901 0.932

How many countries are still under French rule?

French Overseas Collectivities

France currently has five overseas collectivities—each one has representation in the French Parliament and can vote for president, but its status is not quite that of a region. A good analogy for these might be the territories of Canada or Australia.

THIS IS FUNNING:  How bad is France's economy?

Does France have a king?

The current King in 1789 was King Louis XVI who was married to the famous Queen Marie-Antoinette. King Louis XVI ascended the throne in 1774 and was a member of the House of Bourbons who had ruled over France since 1589.