Question: How many countries use francs?

Which African country uses franc currency?

The West African CFA franc (French: franc CFA; Portuguese: franco CFA or simply franc, ISO 4217 code: XOF) is the currency of eight independent states in West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo.

West African CFA franc
Code XOF
Number 952

Why did France stop using francs?

The French franc was reintroduced and became decimal in 1795, after the French revolution. As the value of the franc diminished over the centuries, it was replaced by the ‘new’ franc in 1960, with 100 old francs being worth one new Franc. … Forty years later, many older French still convert prices into ‘old francs’.

Do the French use euros or francs?

National Currency & Exchange Rates

France is a member of the European Union and one of 23 countries in the region that uses the euro (abbreviated €) as its national currency.

Does Switzerland still use francs?

The Swiss franc is the national and only official currency of Switzerland. The franc increased in value over the euro and the U.S. dollar mainly because of the European debt crisis and monetary policy in the U.S.

Which country uses Dix mille francs?

The violet coloured banknote of 10,000 central African CFA francs features a woman and the main building of the Banque des États de l’Afrique Centrale in Yaounde, Cameroon.

Additional information.

THIS IS FUNNING:  Is French Canadian European?
Location Central Africa
Text 10000, Banque des Etats de l’Afrique Centrale, Dix Mille Francs
Place Yaounde

What replaced the franc?

When the euro replaced the franc on 1 January 1999, the franc was worth less than an eighth of its original 1960 purchasing power.

How much is a French franc worth today?

Convert French Franc to US Dollar

1 FRF 0.177103 USD
5 FRF 0.885515 USD
10 FRF 1.77103 USD
25 FRF 4.42758 USD