Question: What are the two French islands?

How did France keep St Pierre and Miquelon?

During King William’s War, from 1689 to 1697, and Queen Anne’s War, from 1702 to 1712, there were at least five British attacks on the islands. … The Treaty of Utrecht of 1713 brought such wars to an end, and France ceded possession of Saint Pierre and Miquelon, as well as Newfoundland, to Great Britain.

What is the capital of St Pierre?

Do you need a passport to go to St Pierre?

Before you take in the sights and sounds of Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, read these eight travel tips. No passport required. Canadian citizens visiting the islands need only an official government-issued photo ID. … The euro is used on the island, although Canadian currency is accepted by most businesses.

What islands are owned by France?

Did you know?

  • The Islands of Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint-Martin, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon (Atlantic Ocean)
  • Reunion island, Mayotte, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (Indian Ocean)
  • French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna (Pacific Ocean)
THIS IS FUNNING:  How common is marriage in France?