Which country is an overseas department of France?

Which islands are overseas departments of France?

The five overseas regions of France are:

  • Guadeloupe (Caribbean)
  • Martinique (Caribbean)
  • French Guiana (South America)
  • Mayotte (Indian Ocean)
  • Réunion (Indian Ocean)

Is an overseas French department?

Overseas departments (DOM) are territorial authorities integrated into the French Republic in the same capacity as the departments and regions in Metropolitan France. Each of these departments makes up a single-department region, called an “overseas region” since the constitutional revision of 2003.

How many overseas territories are in France?

Overseas France. France has 12 overseas territories. Combined, they are home to nearly 2.6 million inhabitants. Amongst these, a distinction is made between overseas departments and regions (DROM) and overseas communities and territories (CTOM).

Where is Martinique located?

Are French overseas departments part of France?

The overseas departments and regions of France (French: départements et régions d’outre-mer, pronounced [depaʁtəmɑ̃ e ʁeʒjɔ̃ d‿utʁəmɛʁ]; DROM) are departments of France that are outside metropolitan France, the European part of France. They have exactly the same status as mainland France’s regions and departments.

What country that speak French?

Countries where French is an official language:

  • France (60 million native speakers)
  • Canada (7 million native speakers)
  • Belgium (4 million native speakers)
  • Switzerland (2 million native speakers)
  • Congo-Kinshasa.
  • Congo-Brazzaville.
  • Côte d’Ivoire.
  • Madagascar.
THIS IS FUNNING:  How much does it cost to mail to France?

What are the 6 countries that border France?

A: Andorra, Belgium, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco (a principality), Spain, Switzerland.

Why is Guadeloupe a department of France?

Guadeloupe’s colonial history began when Christopher Columbus first set foot on the island in 1493. … In 1946, it became a French département, an ambiguous status giving the island a locally elected government that reports to the national government in Paris.

What islands are owned by France?

Did you know?

  • The Islands of Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint-Martin, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon (Atlantic Ocean)
  • Reunion island, Mayotte, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (Indian Ocean)
  • French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna (Pacific Ocean)