Quick Answer: Who was first president of France?

Who was the president of France before Charles de Gaulle?

List of presidents of France by tenure

Rank President Tenure
1 François Mitterrand 21 May 1981 – 17 May 1995
2 Jacques Chirac 17 May 1995 – 16 May 2007
3 Charles de Gaulle 8 January 1959 – 28 April 1969
4 Jules Grévy 30 January 1879 – 2 December 1887

Who was the first president of the French Second Republic?

French Second Republic

French Republic République française
Religion Roman Catholicism (official) Calvinism Lutheranism Judaism
Government Unitary semi-presidential republic (1848–1851) Unitary authoritarian presidential republic (1851–1852)
• 1848–1852 Prince Louis-Napoleon Bonaparte

Who ruled France in 1945?

Three months after a new French constitution was approved, Charles de Gaulle is elected the first president of the Fifth Republic by a sweeping majority of French voters.

Why is France the 5th Republic?

The Fifth Republic emerged from the collapse of the Fourth Republic, replacing the former parliamentary republic with a semi-presidential (or dual-executive) system that split powers between a president as head of state and a prime minister as head of government.

Who preceded Macron as French president?


Name (Birth–Death)
22 Jacques Chirac (1932–2019)
23 Nicolas Sarkozy (born 1955)
24 François Hollande (born 1954)
25 Emmanuel Macron (born 1977)
THIS IS FUNNING:  Do French students pay tax?

Who was the first President of the Third French Republic?

French Third Republic

French Republic République française
• 1871–1873 (first) Adolphe Thiers
• 1932–1940 (last) Albert Lebrun
President of the Council of Ministers

When was the First Republic and Second Republic declared in France?

Second Republic, (1848–52) French republic established after the Revolution of 1848 toppled the July monarchy of King Louis-Philippe. (The first French republic had been formed during the French Revolution.) The liberal republicans’ hopes of establishing an enduring democratic regime were soon frustrated.