What are the 5 overseas territories of France?

What does French Overseas territories mean?

Definition. The overseas territories are an integral part of the French Republic, but have different statuses to those of the overseas departments and the overseas authorities. They include : the Territory of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (TAAF) ; the Scattered French Islands in the Indian Ocean.

Why does France have overseas territories?

These overseas territories “give France secure platforms for power projection all over the world, and the possibility to redeploy military assets in response to changes in the strategic situation.” They allow France to be present “as a credible partner and ally in both the Indian Ocean and the Asia-Pacific region.” (§ …

What islands are owned by France?

Did you know?

  • The Islands of Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint-Martin, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon (Atlantic Ocean)
  • Reunion island, Mayotte, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (Indian Ocean)
  • French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna (Pacific Ocean)

How many colonies Does France still have?

France currently has five overseas collectivities—each one has representation in the French Parliament and can vote for president, but its status is not quite that of a region.

How many islands does France own?

French Polynesia is a sprawling possession of France in the Pacific Ocean, made up of 118 volcanic and coral islands and atolls, including Tahiti. For France this huge stretch of the Pacific – as big as Western Europe – remains strategically valuable.

THIS IS FUNNING:  Why was the colonization of New France so slow?

Which are the 14 British overseas territories?

The qualifying territories are:

  • Anguilla.
  • Bermuda.
  • British Antarctic Territory.
  • British Indian Ocean Territory.
  • British Virgin Islands.
  • Cayman Islands.
  • Falkland Islands.
  • Gibraltar.