What is classed as a region in France?

What are the regions of France?

Metropolitan France is divided into 22+ 5 overseas administrative regions. Use the interactive map of the 13 French regions to find out more information about the country.

The old 22 regional names.

English French spelling
Aquitaine Aquitaine
Auvergne Auvergne
Brittany Bretagne
Burgundy Bourgogne

What are the 27 regions of France?

Regions of France

Region Capital Km2
Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Lyon 69 711
Bourgogne-Franche-Comté Dijon 47 784
Brittany Rennes 27 208
Centre-Val de Loire Orléans 39 151

What is the difference between a region and a department in France?

France is divided into regions, which are then divided into departments ( Departements ). There is a total of 96 excluding the overseas territories. Each department has a unique number, which is used for many administrative reasons, such as the vehicle registration plates, postcodes, but not phone numbers.

What is considered South of France?

Southern France, also known as the South of France or colloquially in French as le Midi, is a defined geographical area consisting of the regions of France that border the Atlantic Ocean south of the Marais Poitevin, Spain, the Mediterranean Sea and Italy.

Southern France.

Southern France Le Midi (French)
Country France

What are the names of the 5 overseas regions in France?

The five French overseas territorial communities are Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, the Wallis and Futuna Islands and French Polynesia.

THIS IS FUNNING:  Question: Why is Swiss franc considered a safe haven?