You asked: What is the administrative structure of France?

What are French administrative regions called?

List of administrative regions

Type Region Other local name(s)
Metropolitan region Grand Est (Great East) German: Großer Osten
Metropolitan region Hauts-de-France (Upper France)
Metropolitan region Île-de-France (Island of France)
Metropolitan region Normandie (Normandy) Norman: Normaundie

How many administrative divisions are in France?

For administrative purposes, France is divided into 26 regions (régions).

Why is France divided into departments?

France is divided into regions, which are then divided into departments ( Departements ). … After the French Revolution, the country was originally divided in to 82 departments, as the population has grown and for administrative reasons certain of them have been divided into smaller areas (especially near Paris).

What is the smallest administrative division in France?

A commune is the smallest and oldest administrative division in France.

How is Paris divided?

Paris is divided into 20 arrondissements, or districts. From a tourist’s point of view, the most desirable districts are those near the major sights, museums, and attractions.

What are the departments in France divided into?

Overall, continental France is divided into 94 administrative departments, numbered 1 to 95, excepting 20. There is no department 20. The former department 20 is now departments 2a and 2b, which are the island of Corsica.

THIS IS FUNNING:  Your question: How much money should you bring to Paris?